Gov 2.0 Camp: view from a co-organizer

This past weekend, I had the amazing good fortune to help organize Government 2.0 Camp with three great people: Maxine Teller, Peter Corbett, and Mark Drapeau.

You can find all kinds of recap goodies on the Government 2.0 Club site (the camp was the club’s launch event).

Photo of me organizing the agenda on the fly

Credit: Chris Wolz

Aside from a truly energizing set of conversations, I learned that you can:

  • build an agenda on the fly in front of hundreds of people. Twice.
  • get hundreds of people to sing with you (for those of you who missed it, we started day 1 singing “get down, get funky, get loose, and groove to the beat!” and day 2 singing “we will, we will, rock you!” accompanied by foot stomping and clapping to the beat).  Anybody who got video of either day, please, for the love of all that is social media, let me know! (update: someone did post it to YouTube, starting at about 2:00)

I’m already seeing the promo video in my head for next year:

(cue dramatic music)

2 days …

20 hours of sharing/building/laughing/thinking …

IMAGINING …

110 sessions …

500 people in government/contractors/interest groups/non-profits/politics …

(slide from music to chanting and clapping and pounding beat)

we will, we will … ROCK YOU!

Now, let’s keep the momentum going; no need to wait a year for the next unconference. Instead, join us in Government 2.0 Club!

3 Responses to “Gov 2.0 Camp: view from a co-organizer”


  1. 1 Marilyn Clark March 31, 2009 at 1:43 am

    Let me comment first and say you are a rockstar! Plus, love that fabulous photo in your header. Great to see the blog up and rolling! Definitely let us know if the camp song videos surface!

  2. 2 Joe Flood March 31, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Congrats on your new blog!

  3. 3 Jacque Brown April 4, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I updated my Facebook status to say that I was singing “We will rock you” at Government 2.0 camp, and I had two senior leaders within my firm comment and another ask me about it later! My response was that we may have been singing for fun, but it truly was a promise. By the end of the day Saturday I was inspired and overwhelmed! Congrats on your new blog.


Leave a Reply

I’m on Twitter @levyj413


