Community Worldle Redux

Thanks to the 16 folks who responded to my request for words related to government and social media.  Here’s what you came up with.  I think that wordles often aren’t too helpful, but this time it’s pretty clear that open communication is key:

Wordle: Government 2.0

Some interesting combinations via proximity came out of the randomness, too:

  • people-collaboration-government
  • information-transparent-democracy
  • evolving-trust-technology
  • powerful-citizen
  • security-transparency (I’d love to see someone make that connection literal!)
  • new-forum
  • public-exciting-empowering-listening-participation-honest-outreach-responsibility

I have an image in my head of a beat poet gathering (or at least what I imagine they looked like), with a hep cat sittin’ up front beneath a spotlight spouting these words into the void, accompanied by a jazzy sax.

6 Responses to “Community Worldle Redux”


  1. 1 Mike Mahaffie April 4, 2009 at 8:26 am

    This was a fun exercise. We did something similar last summer among the members of the National States Geographic Information Council (NSGIC) when we issued a “six word” challenge (remember 6-word memoirs?) on how to achieve a true National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI). We published the results, and the resulting wordle, in the NSGIC Newsletter (PDF, see page 8). I agree that wordles aren’t always completely helpful, but I think they can be a great tool for engaging people who otherwise might sit-out a discussion. And they can help highlight key terms and concepts (if used carefully).

  2. 2 Jeffrey April 4, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Hey, that’s cool, Mike. I’ll have to store that idea away and do it for gov’t 2.0.

  3. 3 Marilyn April 4, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    Weren’t we doing to do this to for the Social Media Subcouncil with the five words we submitted when we joined? :)

    Love this! Beautiful :)

  4. 4 Briddj April 8, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    I’d never come across Wordles before – i like it. And it looks really pretty too – we could do the same for the team at Awayday for our team identity – or even for the organisation instead of the staff attitude survey. How about that?

    Pity my words missed the boat.

    Cheers – I’ll look out for other interesting new ideas.

  5. 5 hemel.ro April 4, 2016 at 6:40 am

    Having read this I thought it was rather enlightening. I appreciate you finding
    the time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worth it!


  1. 1 Wordle? « here goes nothing Trackback on April 4, 2009 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

I’m on Twitter @levyj413


