The Ultimate Social Media Policy for Government Agencies

This is going to be a really complex piece about all the various cultural, legal, policy, and other issues surrounding how government employees use social media on the job.

Ok, not really.

Actually, I think it boils down to two simple directives:

  1. DO: use social media tools to serve your mission.
  2. DON’T: Be stupid.

It seems to me everything else follows from those two rules, in the same way that I think overall strategy follows from the simple mantra “mission, tool, metrics, teach.”

Let’s look at a few examples:

  • Don’t use a tool just to be cool: rule 1
  • Use only the tools appropriate to the task at hand: rule 1
  • Follow records management and information security requirements: rule 2
  • Don’t use foul language: rule 2
  • Check with your boss before doing anything online: rule 1 and rule 2

Anyone want to argue I’m missing something major?

Edit July 15: There will, naturally, be a little more detail in specific instructions.  I just think when you start discussing policy, you should get everyone to agree there’s nothing more complicated at hand than these two rules.

Here are some example policies from the Social Media Subcouncil, in our wiki.  Please help us grow this list!

35 Responses to “The Ultimate Social Media Policy for Government Agencies”


  1. 1 Martha McLean July 14, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Amen!!

    Don’t be stupid = Common Sense 101, which seems to have completely disappeared with the increasing discussion around the use of social media in gov’t. This is not new and is covered, ad nauseum in other values and etchics courses and handbooks for public servants.

    If you know something that you shouldn’t share – don’t share it! Whether it’s a cocktail party, family reunion, blog post or other, use your head.

    These are new tools but the rules should not be different.

    Thanks for keeping something that should be simple, simple!

    @mjmclean

  2. 2 Joe Flood July 14, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Maybe this could be 2a: Don’t embarrass yourself or your agency.

    Social media is social, after all, and public so don’t write or say anything that you wouldn’t mind shared all over the net.

  3. 3 Greg Friese July 14, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Excellent.

    How about a 3rd rule?

    3. Once you start using social media, keep using it. Registering and not using violates rule 1.

  4. 4 Jin July 14, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Definitely agree with Greg’s comment. I’ve seen some companies and gov agencies creating Twitter, Facebook accounts for the sake of jumping on the web2.0 band wagon, but not doing anything with it. This, in fact hurts their reputation than helping.

  5. 5 Kaya July 14, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    I think it’s fantastic; it encapsulates everything that needs to be covered. Now here’s the challenge: How do you get legal’s buy-in to simplifying social media policies into 2 directives?

    • 6 Jeffrey July 15, 2009 at 11:39 am

      Well, you have to acknowledge that procedures under the policy may be a little more involved. But the simple policy statement shouldn’t be such a problem.

      Have you sat down with your attorneys, showed them similarly simple policies at other companies or agencies, and helped them understand what you’re trying to accomplish and why?

      I think it helps anyone new to these issues to understand that others have passed this way before.

      Here’s a great list of policies from the Social Media Subcouncil (I’ll add this above, too): http://govsocmed.pbworks.com/Web-2-0-Governance-Policies-and-Best-Practices

  6. 7 Cian July 14, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I agree. Ideally, that’s really all there is to it!

    But, I think policies and guidelines are necessary for a couple reasons:

    – Humans are … apt to make stupid decisions. Better to help us avoid those actions in the first place than to pretend they can never occur.

    – Some people are uninformed and don’t know what they don’t know. To me, this is the biggest issue. It’s real, and we just need to deal with it.

    I think part of it is about framing, too. Framing guidelines as “you can’t do this!” sends a different message from guidelines on “how to excel with social media tools.” Poorly crafted policy is a hindrance. Good policy or guidelines help me do my job well.

    • 8 Jeffrey July 15, 2009 at 11:37 am

      Excellent points! You’re right that we need to teach people who aren’t used to talking to the public the subtleties of how to avoid problems.

      I also like your idea of a positive spin on the guidelines.

  7. 9 Rich July 15, 2009 at 11:03 am

    I’ve been wandering around for ages saying we only need one policy in the council – “Don’t make your boss look stupid”. I think these too directives rival that for catch all simplicity – like it!

  8. 10 Ari Herzog July 15, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Scenario: I work at an agency. I think X will be useful for the agency’s mission and I have it on record that Joe, Jim, and Mary would like the agency to use X. I approach my boss, share their perspectives, and the boss says no. Am I stupid to tell Joe, Jim, and Mary the agency won’t use X? Or am I smart to open an unofficial channel on X?

  9. 11 April August 23, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Simple mantra “mission, tool, metrics, teach.” What do you recommend for Metrics?

  10. 12 netbooster July 18, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    Admiring the time and energy you put into your blog and
    detailed information you provide. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material.

    Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  11. 13 web site July 22, 2013 at 7:22 am

    It’s actually a nice and useful piece of information. I’m satisfied that you just shared
    this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this.

    Thanks for sharing.

  12. 14 shock rock band July 24, 2013 at 10:27 am

    Hello my loved one! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include approximately all
    vital infos. I would like to see more posts like this .

  13. 15 Twitter July 27, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article.

    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

  14. 16 Madonna July 28, 2013 at 7:58 am

    I rarely comment, but i did some searching and
    wound up here The Ultimate Social Media Policy for
    Government Agencies | Government 2.0 Beta. And I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it appear like some of the responses come across as if they are left by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are writing at other sites, I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Could you list of the complete urls of your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  15. 17 calvin klein underwear July 29, 2013 at 12:07 pm

    A perfume that makes women want to achieve their
    needs and to cope their lives to the fullest. Do you may have what it moves to be a suitable CK underwear model number?

    Hair pieces were considered for accessory. Julianna Margulies knows ways to rock the ured carpet
    at device Actors Guild Cash incentives. http://www.

    dvotocka.com/

  16. 18 Read This August 12, 2013 at 4:06 am

    Great Web page, Carry on the wonderful work. Thanks a ton.

  17. 19 Buy At Home Wealth System August 29, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your fantastic post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  18. 20 self esteem evaluation September 24, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    Admiring the hard work you put into your website and detailed information you
    offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once
    in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.
    Great read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  19. 21 http://luggagescanner.webs.com September 25, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    Wow, this paragraph is pleasant, my younger sister
    is analyzing such things, therefore I am going to convey her.

  20. 22 raspberry ketone review September 26, 2013 at 12:32 am

    Although there is evidence that it can indeed be helpful, you still have to pay attention to your
    diet and exercise regularly. Garcinia Cambogia assists weight loss
    by restraining hunger AND increased fat burning. Yes, supplements I use are natural, fruit-based, doctor-approved and available in
    grocery stores (no online-only or mail-order like some diet scams).

  21. 23 command and conquer generals 2 November 27, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    Now I am going to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming over again
    to read further news.

  22. 24 hairlossandgrow.com March 3, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    Swiping to the aptly, in lieu of command, enables a futuristic zipline tool in lieu of surreptitiously dropping into extra locations — mirroring the gesture equips an energy defend and swiping up produced a whirr.
    You can even view statistics from multiple sites, if you have more than one ecommerce
    website to maintain. The D-pad is the most different-looking, compared with the 360’s controller; it no longer sits on a disc.

  23. 25 Boris March 29, 2014 at 4:10 am

    Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was curious about your situation; we have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to trade strategies
    with other folks, why not shoot me an email
    if interested.

  24. 26 binäre optionen May 2, 2014 at 11:29 pm

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my cousin
    stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a 30
    foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.

    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely
    off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  25. 27 arthritis June 28, 2014 at 7:52 am

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your information,
    but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding
    more. Thanks for fantastic info I was looking for this
    information for my mission.

  26. 28 Kansas City Web Design December 27, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided
    to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing site!
    Is it OK to share on Reddit? Keep up the really awesome work!

  27. 29 8tracks.com July 12, 2015 at 7:50 pm

    Heartgard plus medicines need to be taken by your canine, every month religiously and strictly, so that the
    larvae does not keep multiplying. To correct nuisance or aggressive behavior (barking, chasing,
    jumping, chewing, etc) when your dog performs the behavior immediately
    press the stimulation button. It is thought to have mutated from the feline leukopenia virus.

  28. 30 medication online November 1, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    I used to be suggested this blog through my cousin. I am not certain whether or not this post is written by way of him as
    no one else understand such unique approximately my difficulty.
    You are wonderful! Thank you!


  1. 1 links for 2009-07-14 « riverrun meaghn beta Trackback on July 14, 2009 at 11:17 pm
  2. 2 raspberry ketones weight Trackback on July 25, 2014 at 6:51 am
  3. 3 Buy bitcoin with paypal usa Trackback on February 13, 2015 at 8:14 am
  4. 4 Click On this page Trackback on March 8, 2015 at 9:36 pm
  5. 5 vending machine codes for Free stuff Trackback on July 24, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

I’m on Twitter @levyj413


